Class 9 Geography

Physical Features of India

NCERT Exercise Solution

Multiple Choice Questions

Question 1: A landmass bounded by sea on three sides is referred to as

  1. Coast
  2. Peninsula
  3. Island
  4. None of the above

    Answer: (b) Peninsula

Question 2: Mountain ranges in the eastern part of India forming its boundary with Myanmar are collectively called as

  1. Himachal
  2. Purvachal
  3. Uttarakhand
  4. None of the above

    Answer: (b) Purvachal

Question 3: The western coastal strip, south of Goa is referred to as

  1. Coromandel
  2. Kannar
  3. Konkan
  4. Northern Circar

    Answer: Kannad

Question 4: The highest peak in the Eastern Ghats is

  1. Anai Mudi
  2. Mahendragiri
  3. Kunchenjunga
  4. Khasi

    Answer: (a) Anai Mudi

Answer the following questions:

Question 1: What are tectonic plates?

Answer: The crust of the earth is not in the form of a continuous plate rather in the form of broken pieces. These pieces of the earth's crust are called tectonic plates.

Question 2: Which continents of today were part of the Gondwana land?

Answer: South America, Africa, Antarctica, Australia and India were part of the Gondwana land.

Question 3: What is bhabar?

Answer: After descending from the mountains, the rivers deposit pebbles in a narrow belt. The width of this belt is about 8 to 16 km and it lies parallel to the Shiwaliks. This region is known as bhabar. All the streams disappear in this region.

Question 4: Name the three major divisions of the Himalayas from north to south.

Answer: Three major divisions of the Himalayas from north to south are:

  1. The Great or Inner Himalaya
  2. The Lesser Himalaya or Himachal
  3. The Shiwaliks

Question 5: Which plateau lies between the Aravali and the Vindhyan ranges?

Answer: The Malwa plateau lies between the Aravali and the Vindhyan ranges.

Question 6: Name the island group of India having coral origin.

Answer: Lakshadweep

Question 7: Distinguish between

  1. Converging and diverging tectonic plates

    Answer: The converging tectonic plates move towards each other, while diverging plates move away from each other.
  2. Bhangar and Khadar

    Answer: Bhangar is the largest part of the Northern Plains and is formed by the oldest alluvium. On the other hand, Khadar is the younger deposit of alluvium.
  3. Western Ghats and Eastern Ghats

Western GhatsEastern Ghats
They lie along the Arabian Sea.They lie along the Bay of Bengal.
Average height is 900 to 1600 mAverage height is 600 m
They are almost continuous.They are interspersed by rivers.